[PETRUSHKA BY STRAVINSKY] Suita z ballet Petrushka [i.e. The Suite to Petrushka Ballet. Piano Version by the Author]

Kiev: Muzgiz, 1927. Item #503

35 pp. 34x25.5 cm. Some tears and stains on the wrappers and lower margin, otherwise very good.

First Ukrainian edition. Rare.

This is a piano transcription of Igor Stravinsky’s early composition ‘Petrushka’. He began to create the ballet in Ukrainian town Ustyluh in 1907. Performed for the first time in 1911, the composition has been one of the most popular Ballets Russes. Its piano version presented not mere piano reduction of the composition, but an attractive independent work that is now known as ‘‘Trois mouvements de Petrouchka’’. Stravinsky created piano version of the suite in 1921 for his friend pianist Arthur Rubinstein. He was the only musician who made Stravinsky believe in the soft sounds of piano performance. This is one of the early publications of the music.

The edition is designed by Moishe Berkovich-Erko (1904- 1944), a Jewish avant-garde artist who spent most of his life in Romania, although was associated with Parisian scene. He died in a concentration camp.

Not in the Worldcat.

Price: $3,500.00

Status: On Hold
See all items in Constructivism, Music
See all items by